New Wings of Glory Miniatures – A Quick Review

Image
When I was at Gen Con last month, I swung into  the Ares booth to stock up on some aircraft miniatures for Wings of Glory game.  I’m a Wings of Glory junkie – I’ll concede that.  They ran a great special, buy two get one free.
I opted to snag the new Hanriot HD.1, the Aviatik D.1, and the Sopwith Triplane.    I saw the DR 1 Triplanes too, so I grabbed an all-too-familiar red DR.1 piloted by Manfred von Richthofen.
 ImageImage
Okay, the photos do a good job of speaking for themselves.  Let me say this, this metal miniatures have some incredibly intricate paint jobs.  Ares is to be commended on that front.  The quality of the paint jobs is outstanding.    Check out the paint scheme on Mario Fucini’s Italian Hanriot.  It is very intricate for the level of detail.   I’ve noticed on eBay that a cottage industry has sprung up with people custom painting these models, which is testimony to how detailed they are.
 
I was looking forward to the Sopwith Triplane and the Aviatik.  I wanted the Aviatik for some scenarios I’m running with Bert Hall of the Lafayette Escadrille.   Sopwith Triplanes, to me, have a special look about them and Ares did a good job in capturing these.
 
The other plane in this series that I didn’t pick up with the Siemens-Schuckert D.III.  This brings to surface my only minor gripe with Ares on this game line – which planes they are bringing out.  Let’s face it the Siemens-Schuckert D.III and the Hanriot HD.1 are not on the list of prominent aircraft of the Great War for most historians.  Ares so far has skipped over Sopwith 1 1/2 Strutters, for example (come on Ares, give me a Fred Zinn Sopwith!) I’m sure they’ll get around to the more popular and recognized aircraft at some point, I was simply hoping they would do that up-front. 
 
Here’s the latest release set:  
Hanriot HD.1 Coppens Belgium
Hanriot HD.1 Fucini Italy
Hanriot HD.1 Scaroni Italy
Aviatik D.I Linke-Crawford Austria-Hungary
Aviatik D.I Sabeditsch Austria-Hungary
Aviatik D.I Turek Austria-Hungary
Sopwith Triplane Collishaw Canada
Sopwith Triplane Dallas Australia
Sopwith Triplane Little Australia
Siemens-Schuckert D.III Lange Germany
Siemens-Schuckert D.III Veltjens Germany
Siemens-Schuckert D.III Von Beaulieu-Marconnay Germany
 
If you haven’t picked up Wings of Glory, I recommend it.  It’s a beer and pretzel’s approach to WWI combat where the pace is not bogged down with rules adding realism and complexity.  It’s the kind of game you can teach an eight year old in about 10 minutes. 
6 thoughts on “New Wings of Glory Miniatures – A Quick Review

  1. Only a few months ago I stumbled across a +15 year old copy of this game being played at a venue in Bendigo, Australia. IT IS BRILLIANT! As Blaine has pointed out, it really is a beer and skittles game using some basic props, a gris and a deck of cards. The bonus being games are generally start to finish in 10 minutes – well at least when I was flying. Now I have found the source, I shall be acquiring some for home. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Shayne T Wright and commented:
    Only a few months ago I stumbled across a +15 year old copy of this game being played at a venue in Bendigo, Australia. IT IS BRILLIANT! As Blaine has pointed out, it really is a beer and skittles game using some basic props, a gris and a deck of cards. The bonus being games are generally start to finish in 10 minutes – well at least when I was flying. Now I have found the source, I shall be acquiring some for home.
    A much simplier game than Warhammer or Battletech were players can play several games in an hour or so rather than pushing hard to complete just one.

  3. Author and Historian Blaine L. Pardoe

    The game is simple – yet there’s a level of sophistication with it – especially with the two-seater aircraft. I have the Gotha bomber too, and that is a monster all its own.

  4. kevin

    Two-seaters add wonderful wrinkles to the game. Instead of just fighter furr-balls, you can actually have some “missions” where you focus on other things (while still aiming to shoot planes down).
    I wish WoG had 2 seaters but think we will see a couple next series (though what I see are more 2 seater fighters than observation planes…) If you can pick up an Re8 or Rumpler or Breguet, you can really get your teeth into the stuff that WW1 air was really all about.

  5. Author and Historian Blaine L. Pardoe

    Actually they make two-seaters – under the original title of the game – Wings of War. You can still pick them up on eBay. They are fully compatible with Wings of Glory (it’s the same game, new packaging). They make for incredibly complex games – where approach angles against the enemy are very important.

    1. Steve

      They now have several 2 Seaters out and more are coming in the next reissue of minis. If your looking for more info on the game, head on over to the Wings of Glory Aerodrome. We’re a big and active community which spans globally. The Aerodrome is a vast resource with tons of info, and many “pilots” who are very welcoming and willing to discuss both eras of the game. If you do sign up, tell them CdnFlyer sent ya! May your sights be true and your enemies be blinded by the sun! Good hunting.

Leave a Reply

