The Return of Star Trek to TV – ish… “It’s a trap!”

Ah, old school goodness...
Ah, old school goodness…

When I first saw the headlines, that Star Trek was going to be back on the air, I was excited.  We fans have been wandering in a desert of fan-flicks and dwindling book fiction since the cancellation of Enterprise.  Yeah, we had the new films, which were good, but they were few and far between (and had too many glaring lights on the bridge.)  For a short time, I was excited at the prospect of a new series.

Then CBS touched it.

The “Tiffany Network” who has brought us Scorpion (just typing the name of this series made me throw up in the back of my mouth a little), has said that the premiere episode will be on their network.  The rest of of the series will be some pay for view digital channel.  Sigh.  Really?  You’re using Star Trek as bait for your new digital venture?  Will the quality be there?  Are we getting a half-baked Star Trek series?  Why not just put it on the regular schedule?  Don’t you have faith that Star Trek would be a success?  (If no, what is wrong with you?)  Why would I subscribe to their streaming channel? So I can watch NCIS – Albuquerque?   Would I shell out the money just for Star Trek?

My stomach clenched as it dawned on me that CBS is squandering an incredible sci fi franchise.  It brought back echos of the Paramount Network launch around Star Trek Voyager.  Would CBS make the connections to the movies or would this be some freakish stand-alone orphan?

The writers they have lined up have some successes, but some ugly-ass failures too.

I’m trying to be optimistic.  Yet the more I consider the implications of the new series, I realize I have more questions than hope.  I won’t be happy until I see some Red Shirts drop dead.  Please CBS, prove me wrong!

#StarTrek

One thought on “The Return of Star Trek to TV – ish… “It’s a trap!”

  1. The sad truth is CBS owns the Star Trek rights, like it or not. I have no problem with the streaming thing at all, I only wish it was a more popular service. Shows like Game of Thrones, Orange is the new Black and Dare Devil are finding fans and success streaming. Not being on broadcast TV does allow the show certain freedom as they are not being driven by ourside forces from advirtising. I am looking forward to it and will support it, QAPLA’

Leave a Reply

