Unboxing the Zeppelin Staaken R.V1 – Wings of Glory

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bomber Goodness!

One thing about Ares Games, who produces Wings of Glory, they deliver.  Their latest Kickstarter campaign for two of the big bombers of WWI was too much for me to pass on.  And this week, my Handley Page and Zeppelin Staaken bombers arrived!

I’ll be doing an in-depth review of these miniatures in Over The Front in an upcoming issue (I convinced the editors to introduce a game review column).  In the meantime, I thought I’d expose you to the unboxing of the German aircraft.

First observations, with all of the add-ons from the Kickstarter, you get a lot.  The plane itself is magnificent – and done to scale with the other aircraft in the Wings of Glory line.  When you put it out on the map of London (Kickstarter exclusive I believe) you realize one thing – you’re gonna need a LOT more map space to play with these big boys.  It would take 4-5 turns to circle one of these in a fighter.  Seriously, it’s huge – and that’s what makes it so awesome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ace and Maneuver Cards
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The comparison chart
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Over London
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
From behind
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
From above
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View from the front

Anyway, I just thought my regular readers would enjoy seeing this come out of the package.  I’ll be unboxing the Handley Page shortly too.  I can’t wait to put these bad boys to the test against some fighters!

Leave a Reply

