Unboxing the Handley Page 0/400 Bomber – Wings of Glory

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Here comes havoc! 

I took part in the Wings of Glory “big jumbo honking bomber” (my name for it) Kickstarter.  It’s not that I’m a big fan of the large aircraft, but I do enjoy Wings of Glory quite a bit.  Introducing massive bombers could add some dimensions of play that are fascinating.  Also, my grandson is six and is almost at an age where we can start playing the game…it’s that easy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The packaging was my only issue, albeit a minor one

As you can see, you get a two-sided game map with the Kickstarter, ace cards, a maneuver deck, stands, rules and oodles of miniature WWI goodness.

The bomber itself is an impressive model.  I struggled for five minutes to extricate it from the packaging however – the Ares Games guys REALLY had it secured.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
They all look like ants from up here…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pristine…almost too pristine.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Crisp lines
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Seriously dude, if you shoot now, you’re hitting your own tail

I love the paint job on this mini.  I kind of wish the Wings of Glory stuff all didn’t look as if it came new out of the factories.  Some weathering would be neat.  I’m sure there are guys out there frantically repainting these for realism, which is great.

While I’m not a British aircraft fan, this mini has a lot to offer for WWI aviation buffs.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

