Unboxing – Star Trek the original series miniatures from Modiphius Entertainment

IMG_1555

I pre-ordered the Modiphius Entertainment new Star Trek RPG and figured if I was going to get it, I might as well go hip deep and order some miniatures as well.  They arrived this week and I thought you might like to see what you get for around $50 US.

My initial reaction when I opened the box was, “what a lot of wasted packaging space!” You can see for yourself

IMG_1556

IMG_1557
At first I wondered if something was missing.  

The miniatures are packaged two to a tiny ziplock.

IMG_1558
The box creates the illusion you are getting a lot more.

The mini’s themselves have minor flash on them, which is no big deal.  Obviously some assembly is required.

Actually the detail is pretty crisp, but since you can’t really pose them, I’m not sure (beyond the casting process itself) why I have to assemble them.

So what are my initial thoughts?  First, are they worth the price?  Well, unless Heritage miniatures returns and starts making minis again (yes I am dating myself) I think these are the best Star Trek character miniatures out there.  Of course, they are the only Star Trek miniatures out there.  They are worth it if you want them for your game – which I did.  People may gripe about the price, but it is no more gouging than what Games Workshop has been doing for years.  I am not disappointed.  We shall see after assembly and painting.

I think they are good – but I am curious why they are 32mm in scale when everything in the industry is 15mm or 28mm.  These will work with 28mm scale buildings, but come on Modiphius…get a clue.

I’m pleased.  I could be more pleased if Modiphius would release the crew in the Star Trek II uniforms – but I’m still happy.  Yes, they are pricey, but you don’t have a lot of options out there.

Now to assemble, prime, and paint…  Damn it Jim, I’m a writer, not of modeler…

2 thoughts on “Unboxing – Star Trek the original series miniatures from Modiphius Entertainment

Leave a Reply

