Original Inner Sphere Maps

I have been a BattleTech writer since the first Tech Readout (3025).  I saw the unseen before they were, well, unseen.  Some of my FASA-era background material over the years has just plain been lost or discarded decades ago when I deemed it hopelessly obsolete.

Some, not all.

I have unearthed a treasure trove of old material.  I doubt seriously these are covered under NDA since the material has been published ages ago.  I dug a lot of this out because of some super-top-secret work I am doing in BattleTech right now.

The first release from my archives – the original maps of the Inner Sphere.  These were photocopies provided to me by Ross Babcock back in the day.  FASA was pinching pennies so much that they were copied on the back of copies of Traveller ship deckplans they used to sell.  You can see on the one set of maps where Ross drew with a red ink pen the boundaries in 3025 – which is pretty neat.

I am sure some of you will spend hours looking at these seeking hidden worlds, and hell, who knows, they may be there.  To my knowledge this is the only set of these hand drawn maps from that era still kicking around.  Anyway, I hope you enjoy perusing them.

IMG_1626
The Free World’s League.  You can see the starship blueprint lines bleeding through
IMG_1625
House Steiner
IMG_1624
Unfortunately some of the toner is starting to come off.  I’m glad I took digital images before they fall apart. 
IMG_1623
My favorite.  Ross Babcock drew the lines of this showing the house borders.  I never compared these to the finally published images, so who knows what little quirks may appear.  

 

5 thoughts on “Original Inner Sphere Maps

  1. Jay Newell

    It looks like the faction icons on the maps used the chits from the boxed set taped to the original when it was photocopied. Cutting edge 1980’s technology!
    Thanks for posting these!

  2. ThePW

    Extremely Retro… Then again, i used grid paper to map out sections of certain game regions when i played NWN on a RP server. These papers… should they be in some kind of museum (of some sort) because of their game historical significance?

    ~Pensive’s Wetness

  3. That such amazing maps! I hope they can be preserved. Glimmer in fun time when Battletech was still mists of congealing together!

    Too bad the starship under the map that was bleeding though couldn’t be added to the universe. Lol

Leave a comment